Three Signs You’ll Be Fine

I suspect a lot of riders enjoy cycling because it makes them feel better. And I’m not talking about just physically feeling better.

One of my best friends (who lives in Bogata and whom I’ve only met in person once…it’s an interesting story) sent me this article this morning and I thought it worth sharing.

The article is the essence of what I used to coach in our men’s groups a long, long time ago.

It comes down to this:

  • Things change
  • You can change things (including your thoughts)
  • You do this by considering what is the smallest possible thing you can do to feel better
  • On a scale of one to 10 what can you do right now to move up one-half point
  • Do it
  • Repeat as needed 🙂

So today, I’m feeling pretty good.

My mind is clear and my body isn’t aching too much from cycling classes (Can’t recommend Coaches Petrina and Tracey too highly. If you want to learn how to cycle this is the place in the GTA) and daily strenuous yoga at Gita (really strong yoga and excellent teachers).

But I can do a little more to feel even better. The sun is rising outside my window. I can take a moment to reflect on my day, breath deeply – repeat and bask in the light.

Namaste

 

Author: Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing and yoga. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

Leave a Reply

