Spinning Can Be A Pain In the Butt

After careful consideration my coach (and one of the other cyclists who is a doctor and who was also suffering greatly last night from lower back pain just proving that none of us are immune…I prescribed an Advil and hot bath before bed. I’m not sure my colleague concurred.) concluded my hamstrings are the problem when it comes to my sore butt.hamstrings8

Petrina had a good look around (figuratively not literally although I offered) my butt as I was spinning and complaining and I think she’s right on when it comes to the soreness in my butt. It doesn’t seem that any muscles are sore and I can walk fine, even stretch without pain or effort but when I sit straight down on a chair or saddle I’m really sore. If I lean forward on the saddle reaching for the handlebars it’s not so bad and after warming up for half an hour the pain decreases.

Now how did I inflame my hamstrings where they connect to the pelvic structure?

There are a couple of suspects. Last few weeks I’ve been working on standing while pedalling in a harder gear. Also last few weeks I’ve discovered how to spin up my cadence to over 180 rpms which is terrific. Also I’ve been going to four plus yoga classes per week which has had the miraculous effect of eliminating the daily ongoing pain I was having in my quadriceps.

Of course the cue for all pain is rest immediately followed by gentle stretching and increased use until repaired.

I guess the best thing to do is give my butt a rest. I think I can do that.

Author: Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing and yoga. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

Leave a Reply

