“But I’ve Got Two Kids!”

That’s the excuse I got today when I asked one of my fellow yoga students to leave her cellphone outside the yoga studio.  My answer to her declaration was, of course, “I don’t care.”

What was my mother thinking when she would send me out into the world in the morning as a child and not expect me to return until dinner time? And don’t tell me that Oakville isn’t as safe as back then. It’s actually safer. 

How special these two children must be that their mother remains in constant touch with them or their babysitter. I mean it’s a whole hour. 

I know the yoga studio has a no cellphone policy that even extends into the change rooms. Maureen who owns IGita (which is one of the best yoga studios I’ve seen in over 30 years of practice) would have said something if she’d seen the phone but my guess is Mom hid it under her towel during the class.

How disrespectful of her fellow students. How arrogant. How unconscious. 

Mom if you can’t leave your kids for an hour without having your cellphone with you then stay home. Get a yoga DVD. Take up knitting but don’t bring your cellphone into the meditation hall and pretend that it’s alright. It isn’t!

Leave a Reply

