Butt Talk

We’ve got a lively discussion going on about the pain in my butt on Twitter and Facebook. One of the other riders in my riding group uploaded a video on the subject from the very excellent GCN site.

This is so exciting and why I join a cycling club and cycling school. I’ve never had so much attention focused on my butt since I was a teenager. It’s quite a moment.keep-calm-and-don-t-get-a-sore-butt.jpg

But (no pun intended) getting help when things don’t work out is one of the reasons for joining a club or school of instruction.

At Toastmasters last night, for example, I heard one of the best speeches I’ve ever heard in 22 years of weekly attendance at meetings and coincidentally I heard one of the best evaluations (given on this speech) I’ve ever heard as well. The speech was on the consequences of 9/11 and the evaluation was about how this very excellent speech could have been crafted even better. It takes an amazing evaluator for find ways to improve such an excellent speech and an even more amazing evaluator to put the information to the speaker in a manner which is both complementary but also instructional.

This is how we learn to get better. We expose ourselves (sometimes quite literally) to new ideas and new people. I can’t thank my coach Petrina enough and same goes for the excellent and talented riders who train with her.

I’m very lucky they let my tag along sore butt and all.

Leave a Reply

