The 50K Ride

Yup I just finished a 50k ride from Oakville to Burlington and back to Lakeshore Park east of Winston Churchill and then home again.

For the most part the ride was pretty easy. It was the sitting that was hard….and still is. I’m going to have to go into Gears and talk to them about their butt measuring device.

It was an adventure ride with the early in the ride fairly intense car crash just ahead of me as a women accelerated on Lakeshore to pass me (accelerating to pass a cyclist is so dumb) and ran into the back of the last car in a line of cars stopped as somebody made a right turn into their driveway.

Didn’t appear as if anyone was hurt but it was pretty good crash and fortunately didn’t involve me.

Riding 50k had me sitting way back on my saddle (I’ve switched back – for now – to the standard Fizik.) to avoid too much pain over bumps. The butt back position was a lot  more aerodynamic and for the most part my legs were fine it was just my butt that was holding me back…sort to speak.img_0944

BTW anyone who has access to my Strava stats can see early in the ride when I caught up to the very pretty 25-year-old who was passed by three big guys I was using to set a pace.

It was easier to stay with her than keep up with the boys (who were hitting over 30km/hr) but it’s early season and I’ll get better. BTW the telltale numbers are when I spiked at 150 bpm.

At my age happens all the time: I can catch’m I just can’t stay with them 🙂 I can still keep up to Marion…at least for now. She’s training with Petrina at The CyclingCentre.Ca this summer and should be in great shape by mid season.

Maybe the European bike tour isn’t out of the question?

Leave a Reply

